5B

B.A. Journalism, University of Maine at Orono
M.A. Theology, University of Notre Dame
Secular Franciscan
VCEA certified
Advanced Catechist Certification, Diocese of Arlington
15 Year Teaching Experience

 


“Most High glorious God, enlighten the darkness of my heart and give me true faith, certain hope, and perfect charity, sense and knowledge, Lord, that I may carry out Your holy and true command.”–St. Francis of Assisi

October Highlights

We have finished our unit on tall tales and students wrote an original tall tales. This month we will be comparing and contrasting two versions of the same fairy tale. We are reading Number the Stars in reading. We have begun diagramming sentences in English and are learning how parts of speech function in sentences.  We are finishing up Canada and United States geography and will be beginning Latin America which includes Mexico,  Central America and South America.

Fifth Grade: A Time to Grow and Explore

Fifth graders explore the world through a survey of world geography beginning with North America before proceeding to other continents. We study the geographical features, climates, natural resources, brief histories, economics and cultures of regions throughout the world.  Students complete research projects on different countries.

In English we study grammar, conventions and explore and practice various styles of writing. Parts of speech are studied in depth and students practice diagramming sentences. This year we are implementing the Excellence in Writing method of writing instruction and students use key word outlines and checkoff lists to assure variety, proper content and correct style are used. A weekly writing prompt is assigned for homework each week.

Novels and short stories form the basis of reading instruction which focuses on literary elements,  genres, author’s purpose and analysis of writing. Students are expected to read daily and submit a weekly reading log signed by parents. Students have the goal of reading the equivalent of 25 books a year through a reading response challenge program.

 

 

Please log in to view this content.

Number the Stars Reading Schedule.

The chapter indicated should be read before coming to class on the day indicated. For example chapter 1 should be read before coming to class on October 2.

 

Monday, October 2 Chapter1

Wednesday, October 4 Chapter 2

Friday, October 6 Chapter 3

Tuesday, October 10 Chapter 4

Wednesday, October 11 Chapter 5

Friday, October 13 Chapter 6

Monday, October 16 Chapters 7 and 8

Tuesday, October 17 Chapter 9

Wednesday, October 18 Chapter 10

Friday, October 20 Chapter 11

Monday, October 23 Chapters 12 and 13

Tuesday, October 24 Chapter 14

Wednesday, October 26         Chapter 15

Thursday, October 27 Chapter 16

Friday, October 28 Chapter 17

 

Please log in to view this content.